Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Bush to waive visa rules for 7 nations

The change, to be announced Friday, will include Lithuania and South Korea

WASHINGTON - The Bush administration is poised to remove U.S. visa requirements for the citizens of seven allied countries.

Congressional officials said that Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and South Korea will be added to the U.S. visa waiver program as early as next month.

President Bush is expected to announce the change Friday.

The administration has sought to reward close allies with inclusion in the program.

No comments: